​Together Frankfort

Sindicat Dunn, of Burgin, filed as a write-in candidate for Senate District 22.

Special Election - Mercer County Voters

Contact Mercer County Clerk Chris Horn at 207 W Lexington St, Harrodsburg, the  during office hours: Mon. – Fri., 8 AM – 4 PM. Call: (859) 734-6310. Email: ​chris.horn@ky.gov

A special election for District 22 of the Kentucky State Senate has been called for November 2, 2021. Candidates running for the special election have been selected by their respective local party organizations or through write-in. The seat became vacant after Sen. Tom Buford (R), unfortunately, passed away on July 6, 2021. Senator Buford had represented District 22 since 1991.

Registered voters in Garrard, Jessamine, Mercer, Washington, or one of the 9 Fayette County precincts, will be eligible to vote. Communities in this district are:  Burgin, Harrodsburg, Lancaster, Mackville,  Nicholasville, Springfield, Willisburg, Wilmore. Senate District 22 also includes 2 unincorporated communities:  of High Bridge and Salvisa. If you live in one of these counties & have not received voting information nor read about it in the media, contact your County Clerk, listed below the map, by county. 

Absentee ballots can now be requested for the Nov. 2 special election to fill the 22nd state Senate District formerly held by Sen. Tom Buford. Click on the link to access the ballot request portal.

The date is one of several key dates and locations of which voters should be aware as the special election nears. The portal will close on October 19, 2021 at 11:59 PM. Don't delay your request.

This special election affects a portion of Fayette County voters as well as voters in Jessamine, Garrard, Mercer and Washington counties. The two candidates, Bukulmez and Douglas, will be on the ballot for the Senate seat. The third candidate, Sindicat Dunn, is a write-in candidate. No other Senate elections will be taking place on this date in Kentucky. 

This election will not be conducted under the special circumstances created by the pandemic emergency in 2020. Instead, it will be conducted under the current statutes, which include important changes created by the passage of House Bill 574. Click here to learn more about House Bill 574, which governs voting in Kentucky.

In Fayette County, only nine precincts are eligible to vote in this election.

They are:

          A178 Caywood

          A106 Cardinal Valley

          A118 Holiday Hills

          A158 Armory

          A189 Westmorland

          A121 Keys

          A123 Lane Allen

          A138 The Colony

          A145 Wolf Run

Registered voters in the affected Fayette county precincts already have been contacted by mail informing of the election. The letter includes the information necessary for each citizen to vote successfully.

In addition to Sept. 18, which was the first day to request an absentee ballot via the State Board of Elections portal, other important dates include:

October 4 – Last day to register to vote for the special election

October 19 – Last day to request an absentee ballot via the State Board of Elections portal

October 28, 29, 30 – In-Person Absentee voting at the Fayette County Clerk’s office

November 2 – Election Day - Fayette County

Important Locations

       Ballot Drop Box – located in front of the Fayette County Clerk’s office at 162 East Main Street

       In-Person Absentee Voting – Fayette County Clerk’s office at 162 East Main Street

Election Day Voting Locations (you must go to your precinct location, see below):

       Calvary Church of the Nazarene, 1142 Caywood Drive (click for Google map location)

       South Elkhorn Baptist Church, 4867 Versailles Road (click for Google map link)

       Gardenside Christian Church, 940 Holly Springs Drive (click for Google map link)

Mail-in Absentee Ballot Process - Fayette County

Unlike 2020, voters must have a qualifying reason to vote by mail-in absentee ballot. This method of voting is not available to the general public.

Eligible voters must request their ballot via the State Board of Elections secure portal located at govoteky.com. Voters unable to use the portal should contact the county clerk for assistance at the numbers listed below.

Eligible voters may request their ballot beginning on September 18, but must complete their request no later than October 19. The State Board of Elections portal will close at 11:59 pm on October 19.

Fayette County voters may return their ballot via US mail or by placing it in the drop box in front of the County Clerk’s office at 162 East Main Street.

Mailed ballots must be received by 6pm on Election Day in order to be counted.

In-Person Absentee Process - Fayette County.

The passage of House Bill 574 in 2021 also changed the way in-person absentee voting occurs. Under the new law, all eligible voters may vote an absentee ballot, in-person, on the Thursday, Friday, and Saturday before Election Day.

For this special election, in-person absentee voting will be held at the Fayette County Clerk’s office on Thursday, October 28th, Friday, October 29th, and Saturday, October 30th. The office will be open from 8 am to 4:30 pm on those three days.

Special Election - Jessamine County Voters

Contact the Jessamine County Clerk's office. The Nicholasville Office, at 101 N Main St, Nicholasville, is open Mon. – Fri., 8 AM – 4 PM. Call: (859) 885-4161. The County Clerk's Wilmore Office, at 210 S Lexington Ave. in Wilmore, is open Tues., Wed., & Fri. from 9 AM - 3 PM. Call: (859) 885-4161 Voters can email County Clerk Johnny Collier at johnny.collier@ky.gov

The Kentucky Democratic Party, through the Jessamine County Democratic Party  Chair Ruby Mason announced the nomination of Helen Bukulmez to run for Senate District 22.

Special Election - Washington County Voters

Contact the Washington County Clerk Teresa Marrinan, 111 N. Cross Main, Springfield, Mon. - Fri. 9 am - 4:30 pm; Saturdays 9 am-12 noon, 2nd Saturday of the month; call: (859) 336-5425; Email: ​unavailable.

Sindicat Dunn
Write-In Candidate for Senate District 22
Mailing Address:

208 South Depot St.
Burgin, KY 40310

Business Phone: (859) 734-3675

Facebook Page

Twitter @dunnsbbq0

YouTube Channel
Email: dunnsbbq@yahoo.com

Kentucky Special Election for Senate District 22


PLEASE review the special rules related to the special election on November 2.  If you live within the area enclosed by the yellow line, and are eligible to vote, don't forget to cast your ballot in the special election for District 22 on November 2, 2021. 

Helen Bukulemez, J.D.

Democratic Candidate for Senate District 22

Business Address:

​Bukulemez Legal, PLLC

1614 Brock Road

Paint Lick, KY 40461
Business Phone:  (859) 797-4323

Campaign Website

Campaign Facebook Page

Twitter @HelenforKY22

YouTube Channel

Campaign Email:  helenforkentucky@gmail.com

SSpecial Election - Fayette Count Voters

The Republican Party of Kentucky's Executive Director Sarah Van Wallaghen announced the nomination of Dr. Donald Douglas to run for Senate District 22.

Special Election - Garrard County Voters

Contact the Garrard County Clerk Kevin Montgomery, 15 Public Square, Suite 5, Lancaster during office hours: Mon. – Fri., 8 AM – 4 PM. Call: (859) 792-3071; Email: kevin.montgomery@ky.gov

Donald Douglas, M.D.

Republican Candidate for Senate District 22

Business Address:

Tony Delk IMAC Regeneration Center
2537 Larkin Road
Lexington, KY 40503
Business Phone:  (859)545-0043

Campaign Website

Campaign Facebook Page

Campaign Email: douglasforky@gmail.com