​Together Frankfort: Civic Engagement

Together Frankfort

Shannon Griffith

Phone:  (502) 229-4379
Click here to email Shannon Griffith
Campaign Facebook Page
Facebook Messenger: @shannonforcitycommission

News Articles: Frankfort State Journal, Previous city commission, Frankfort Independent Schools candidate running for office again, Jan. 15, 2020, Jordan Hensley, Reporter. Photo (right) from State Journal article, Jan. 15, 2020.

Leesa Unger

Phone: (502) 395-0364
Click here to e-mail Leesa Unger 
Candidate Facebook Page
Facebook Messenger: @LeesaUngerforFrankfort

News Articles: Frankfort State Journal, Unger becomes fourth person to file for city commissioner, Jan. 10, 2020, McKenna Horsley, Reporter. Photo (right) provided by the candidate. 

Twelve citizens are running for Frankfort's Board of Commissioners:  ​Harry Carver, Tim Childers, Shannon Griffith, Kelly May, Will Prible, Anne Marie Rosen, Diane Strong, Brent Sweger, Kyle Thompson, Leesa Unger, Katrisha Waldridge, and Eric Whisman. Contact information is provided for each candidate's campaign.  Together Frankfort provides this information as a method of encouraging citizen involvement in the elections:  the Primary Election on May 19, & the General Election on November 3, 2020.

Together Frankfort encourages citizens to study the platform for each candidate.  Voters, particularly young voters, are encouraged to follow Frankfort State Journal articles about the Commission race, which announced plans to ask questions, weekly, of Commission candidates and publish their replies. Click on this "Service Vote 2020" link to learn more about opportunities for youth volunteers in campaigns.

We also encourage citizens to get in touch with the candidates which you support.  Learn more about their issues and priorities.  If you're supportive, volunteer to help in his or her campaign:  distributing candidate's business cards, delivering yard signs, posting flyers, helping arrange for speaking opportunities, even going door to door to encourage voters to support your candidate.

The top eight candidates from Kentucky's May 19 Primary will move on to the General Election, which will be held on November 3, 2020.  The top four candidates from the November 2020 general election will be elected to the Frankfort city commission.

Candidates for the Office of Frankfort City Commissioner

Kelly May

Campaign Facebook Page
Facebook Messenger: 

News Articles: Frankfort State Journal, City commission candidate Kelly May says family history isn't what qualifies him to run for public office, Jan. 16, 2020, Jordan Hensley, Reporter. 

Brent Sweger

Click here to email Brent Sweger

Candidate Facebook Page

Campaign Website

News Articles: Frankfort State Journal, Jan. 7, 2020.  Sweger first candidate to qualify for city commission race, Jordan Hensley, reporter.  Photo (right) provided by the candidate.

​​​Tim Childers

Candidate Facebook Page

News Articles: Frankfort State Journal:  
Former 2016 mayoral candidate giving city commission run a try, Jan. 29 2020, Jordan Hensley, Reporter. Photo (right) from State Journal article, Jan. 29, 2020.

Eric E. Whisman (Incumbent)

P.O. Box 1043

Frankfort KY 40602 

Phone (personal):  (502)320-9735

City Commission Cell Number: (502)667-2439

Click here to email Eric Whisman (Personal email address)

City Commission email:  Ewhisman@frankfort.ky.gov

Campaign Facebook Page
Facebook Messenger: @eric.whisman
Campaign Website: www.ericwhisman.com

Frankfort Cable 10 Interview (Not yet available.)
News Articles: Frankfort State Journal, Whisman joins city commission race alongside May's son, Anna Marie Rosen, nine others, Jan. 10, 2020, Jordan Hensley, Reporter.  Photo (right) from Candidate Facebook page.

Will Prible

Phone: (502) 234-1550
Click here to email Will Prible.

Candidate Facebook Page

Facebook Messenger:  @m.me/103041114614009

Photo (right) from Candidate Facebook page.

Kyle Thompson

Phone:  (502) 229-8889

Click here to email Kyle Thompson
Campaign Facebook Page
Facebook Messenger @kylethompsonforcommissioner

News Articles: Frankfort State Journal, 
2012 Mayoral candidate Thompson running for City Commission, January 14, 2020, Jordan Hensley,  Reporter. Photo (right) from State Journal article, Jan. 14, 2020.

​​Ann Marie Rosen

Click here to email Ann Marie Rosen
Campaign Facebook Page
Facebook Messenger:  @102794721257819
Campaign Website 

News Articles: Frankfort State Journal, Rosen says experience as Frankfort Plant Board chair would help her on city commission, January 12, 2020, Jordan Hensley Reporter.

Harry Carver, candidate for Frankfort, KY City Commission

​Harry Carver

Click here to e-mail Harry Carver.

Campaign Facebook Page
Facebook Messenger @m.me/107147307492538

News Articles: Frankfort State Journal, Frankfort real estate agent, city commission candidate wants city to capitalize on its assets, Jan. 12, 2020, Jordan Hensley, Reporter. Photo (right) from State Journal article, Jan. 12, 2020.

​​Katrisha Waldridge (Incumbent)

Phone: (502) 219-7449

City Commissioner cell number:  (502) 667-2394​
Click here to email Katrisha Waldridge

City Commission email:  kwaldridge@frankfort.ky.gov
Candidate Facebook Page
Facebook Messenger:  @KatrishaforCommissioner

News Articles: Frankfort State Journal, Tippett won't seek reelection to city commission; Waldridge says she's running,

Jan. 6, 2020, Jordan Hensley, Reporter.  Photo (right) from Candidate Facebook page.

The City of Frankfort is organized under the City Manager form of government.  The city is led by a five member Board of Commissioners, which includes the Mayor and four Commissioners.  The Mayor is elected every four years, and the Commissioners are elected every two years.  The elections are nonpartisan.

Board of Commissioners must appoint one commissioner as Mayor Pro Tem to act for the Mayor whenever the Mayor is unable to attend to his/ her duties.  Duties specific to the Mayor include presiding over meetings, signing contracts, serving as the ceremonial head of government, and making appointments to certain boards.

Only 19 of the over 400 cities in Kentucky operate under the City Manager form of government.  The city of Frankfort differs from cities with a Mayor-Council plan or Commission plan, because while ultimate responsibility and control over executive and legislative authority rests with the Board of Commissioners as a whole, much of the day-to-day executive and administrative responsibility is given to the City Manager by state law.


​​Diane Strong

Phone:  (970) 270-6573
Click here to email Diane Stong
Campaign Facebook Page
Facebook Messenger: @frankfortstrong
Campaign Website: https://dianestrong.com/

News Articles: Frankfort State Journal, Jan. 9, 2020. Stong Files to Run for City Commission, Jordan Hensley, reporter. Photo (right) from State Journal article, Jan. 9, 2020