Donate to support civic engagement locally, statewide, nationwide

Together Frankfort

Leesa Unger

Phone: (502) 395-0364
Click here to e-mail Leesa Unger 
Candidate Facebook Page
Facebook Messenger: @LeesaUngerforFrankfort
Campaign Website

Photo (right) provided by the candidate. 

Eight citizens campaigned for Frankfort's Board of Commissioners:  ​Harry Carver, Kelly May, Anne Marie Rosen, Diane Strong, Kyle Thompson, Leesa Unger, Katrisha Waldridge & Eric Whisman. The top 8 candidates from the Primary Election ran for the General Election, competing for 4 positions.  The four candidates shown below received the highest number of votes in the November 3, 2020 General Election.  The new Commissioners and the newly elected Mayor, Layne Wilkerson, were sworn into office on December 15, 2020.

Candidate Elected November 3, 2020, for the Office of Frankfort City Commissioner

Kelly May

Click here to email Ian Kelly May.
Campaign Facebook Page
Facebook Messenger: 

Photo (right) Frankfort State Journal, Jan. 16, 2020, 

Kyle Thompson

Phone:  (502) 229-8889

Click here to email Kyle Thompson
Campaign Facebook Page
Facebook Messenger @kylethompsonforcommissioner

 Photo (right) from State Journal article, Jan. 14, 2020.

​​Katrisha Waldridge (Incumbent)

Phone: (502) 219-7449

City Commissioner cell number:  (502) 667-2394​
Click here to email Katrisha Waldridge

City Commission email:
Candidate Facebook Page
Facebook Messenger:  @KatrishaforCommissioner
Campaign Website

Photo (right) from Candidate Facebook page.

The City of Frankfort is organized under the City Manager form of government.  Frankfort is led by a 5 member Board of Commissioners, which includes the Mayor and four Commissioners.  The Mayor is elected every four years; commissioners are elected every two years.  The elections are nonpartisan.

Board of Commissioners must appoint 1 commissioner as Mayor Pro Tem to act on the Mayor's behalf if that person is unable to attend to his/ her duties.  Duties specific to the Mayor include presiding over meetings, signing contracts, serving as the ceremonial head of government, & making appointments to certain boards.

Frankfort is one of only 19 of Kentucky's 400 + cities which operate under the City Manager form of government.  Frankfort differs from cities with a Mayor-Council plan or Commission plan, because while ultimate responsibility and control over executive and legislative authority rests with the Board of Commissioners as a whole, the day-to-day executive and administrative responsibility is given to the City Manager by state law.