Franklin County District 5 Constable Billy Mills

The office of Constable for Franklin County District 5 had no Primary Election, as only one candidate, incumbent Billy Mills, filed to run. Mills was unopposed in the November General Election and will continue in office in 2023.

Richard Tanner (D) 

Franklin County District 5


What are magistrates and constables? Where is Magisterial District 5?

The page provides information about Franklin County's Magisterial District 5 & contact information for the Magistrate-Elect for District 5, Richard Tanner. Magisterial Districts are represented by "Justices of the Peace" or more commonly known as "Magistrates." The position is a partisan office, meaning that candidates must declare the political party for which they seek to be elected to represent.

constable is also elected from each district. They are charged with & serve various court documents such as summons, civil actions & warrants.  There are six district constables (click for a listing of current constables), each responsible for one of the six Magisterial Districts.

The map of Franklin county, below, shows all 44 voting precincts. These precincts are grouped to form six (6) magisterial districts, which are required by law to include a population similar in number, in each district. District 5 (click here for a more detailed map of District 5) is made up of five (5) precincts: Collins Lane, Louisville Road, North Westgate, South Benson, and Westgate.  Voters in each of the six (6) magisterial districts elect one person to represent the district on the Franklin County Fiscal Court. The county's governing body, the Fiscal Court, also includes the County Judge Executive, who is elected by all voters in the county.

Franklin County Magistrate District 5 

Magistrate-Elect Richard Tanner and Constable Billy Mills

Where is Franklin County Magisterial District 5?

​The map of Franklin County, in the left portion of the graphic below, shows all Franklin County and the voting precincts.  Franklin County Magistrate District 5 is enlarged, on the right portion of the graphic. District 5's southern border lies adjacent to Anderson County; the eastern portion borders parts of Shelby County, while the northern border of the district, formed in part by Interstate Highway 64, lies adjacent to Magistrate District 6.

Franklin County Magisterial District 5 Showing Voting Locations

Franklin County Magistrate-Elect for District 5, Richard Tanner 

Of the three candidates who filed for District 3 magistrate (Hank Schweickart; Richard Tanner; Joe Teasley), Richard Tanner won the May 2022 Primary Election, with  61.24% of the vote. Click here for more information about the May Primary for this officeSince no Republican filed for Magistrate District 5, Tanner was unopposed on the November 8, 2022 General Election ballot. Following a swearing-in during early January 2023, Tanner will serve a four year term.

*William "Billy" Mills (D)

Photo not available.


*William "Billy" Mills (D)


450 Westwood Drive, Apt #1
Frankfort, Kentucky 40601

Phone: 502.229.7227
Email:  Not available

Candidate Facebook Page: Not available


Candidates Speak Up!
We Appreciate Magistrate-Elect Tanner, so much, for Speaking Up!

​To better understand local candidates' positions on various civic issues, Together Frankfort sent questionnaires to all candidates for selected local offices.  These included each candidate for:

Frankfort Board of Commissioners 
Franklin County Judge Executive
Franklin County Fiscal Court Candidates in District 1 - District 6. 

District 3 Magistrate - Click here for Magistrate-Elect Tanner's Responses to the  Questionnaire. (Responses from other candidates can be found here, or on the page for each Fiscal Court District election.)

KY House District 56      KY House District 57   KY Senate District 20

Though Together Frankfort's leadership understood that the Frankfort State Journals would publish the candidates' responses to the questionnaire prior to the election, unfortunately the newspaper chose not to do so.  We only learned of their decision not to publish these on the eve of early voting days. Therefore we are providing the responses through links to those candidates who replied. 

We are sincerely appreciative to the candidates who provided thoughtful responses, creative ideas, and timely information.  Please review their ideas .

Richard Tanner (D) 


5320 Sleepy Hollow Drive

Frankfort, KY 40601
Phone: 502.223.4807 
Email:  Not available

Candidate Website  
Candidate Facebook Page