Candidates Speak Up!
We Appreciate Magistrate-Elect Whisman, so much,

for Speaking Up!

​​To better understand local candidates' positions on various civic issues, Together Frankfort sent questionnaires relating to economic development, environment, gun safety, voting and other issues to all candidates for selected local offices. 

These included each candidate for:

Frankfort Board of Commissioners 
Franklin County Judge Executive
Franklin County Fiscal Court Candidates in District 1 - District 6. 

District 6 Magistrate - Click here for Magistrate-Elect Whisman's Responses to the  Questionnaire. (Responses from other candidates can be found here, or on the page for each Fiscal Court District election.)

Questionnaires were also sent to candidates for:
KY House District 56      KY House District 57   KY Senate District 20

Though Together Frankfort's leadership understood that the Frankfort State Journal would publish the candidates' responses to the questionnaire prior to the election, unfortunately the newspaper chose not to do so.  We only learned of their decision not to publish these on the eve of early voting days. Therefore we are providing the responses through links to those candidates who replied. 

We are sincerely appreciative to the candidates who provided thoughtful responses, creative ideas, and timely information.  Please review their ideas.​

Franklin County District 6 Magistrate-Elect Whisman & Constable Sandifer

Franklin County District 6 Magistrate - General Election Winner Eric Whisman

Of the three Democratic candidates who filed to run for District 6 Magistrate in the May 17, 2022 Primary Election, (Ted Collins; *Lambert Moore; Eric E. Whisman), candidate Whisman won with 38.41% of the vote (according to information from the Franklin County Clerk's office). Click here for more information about the candidates in the May 17, 2022 Primary Election.

Because no Republican candidate filed to run for District 6 Magistrate, Whisman was unopposed on the ballot in the November General Election. Magistrate-elect Whisman, along with others elected, will be sworn in during January 2023 and will serve a four (4) year term.


Eric Whisman (D)

PO Box 1043

Frankfort KY 40601
Phone:  502.320.9735


Candidate website
Candidate Facebook Page

*Richard Sandifer (D)

Phone: 502.382.7467


Candidate Facebook Page


*Richard Sandifer

6th District Constable 

 Franklin County District 6 Constable Richard Sandifer

DEMOCRATS:  One candidate filed to run for District 6 Constable in the primary election: *Richard Sandifer, the incumbent. Since no other Democrats and no Republican filed to run for this office, Sandifer will proceed to the November general election unopposed.

REPUBLICAN: No Republican candidates filed to run for District 6 Constable. Therefore the Democratic candidate was unopposed in the November general election.


Where is Franklin County Magistrate District 6?

Franklin County Magisterial Districts, Featuring District 6

Eric Whisman

District 6 Magistrate-Elect

What are magistrates and constables

Magistrates, along with the County Judge Executive, make up the Fiscal Court - the governing body of Franklin County. The page provides information about Franklin County's Magisterial District 6Magisterial districts are represented by "Justices of the Peace" or more commonly known as "Magistrates." The position is a partisan office, meaning that candidates must declare the political party for which they seek to be elected to represent.

Magistrates are elected and serve a four year term on the county fiscal court.  The magistrates have comprehensive planning, budgeting, fiscal management, and legal responsibilities for the management of the county's public health, safety, infrastructure, and civic duties.

A constable is also elected from each district. They are charged with & serve various court documents such as summons, civil actions & warrants.  There are six district constables (click for a listing of current constables), each responsible for one of the six Magisterial Districts.

The map of Franklin county, below, shows all 44 voting precincts in the full county map to the right of the graphic. These precincts are grouped to form six (6) magisterial districts, which are required by law to include a population similar in number, in each district. District 6 (click here for a more detailed map of District 6) is made up of seven (7) precincts.  Voters in each district of the six (6) magisterial districts elect one candidate to represent the district on the Franklin County Fiscal Court, the governing body for the county, along with the County Judge Executive

Magisterial District 6, the largest in land area, shown on the maps below, includes these precincts: Bald Knob, Bellpoint, Bridgeport-Botkins, Choateville, Courthouse, Hickory Hills and St. Johns.

As shown in the graphic below, the district includes the farthest northern parts of the county. The map shows the portion of Magistrate District 6 which includes the city of Frankfort, taking in residential areas off East Main Street. The map below shows the portion of Magistrate District 6 which includes portions of the city, in Bellpoint, and extends west past Glenn's Creek Road to include Martin Luther King Boulevard and neighborhoods near Kentucky State University.