What are magistrates and constables?

The page provides information about Kentucky's (USA) Franklin County Magisterial District 4, including the district itself and those candidates who were elected to represent the district. Magisterial districts are represented by "Justices of the Peace" or more commonly known as "Magistrates."

The position of magistrate is a partisan office, meaning that candidates must declare the political party for which they seek to be elected to represent. Voters in each district of the six (6) magisterial districts elect one candidate to represent the district on the Franklin County Fiscal Court, the governing body for the county, along with the County Judge Executive. 

constable is also elected from each district. They are charged with & serve various court documents such as summons, civil actions & warrants.  There are six district constables (click for a listing of current constables), each responsible for one of the six Magisterial Districts.

District 4 Magistrate-Elect Scotty Tracy (D), incumbent

Candidate *Scotty Tracy, a Democrat, currently holds the office of Magistrate for Franklin County District 4. No other Democrat filed to contest the race, thus he had no opposition in the May Primary Election. In the Kentucky General Election held on November 8, 2022, Tracy ran against the Republican challenger, Darrell Sanderson (R), a manager in the Kentucky Department of Transportion, who graduated from Frankfort High and Kentucky State University. Following the vote count, Tracy claimed 1,614 votes (60%) to Sanderson's 1,080 (40%). Tracy will serve a four year term representing District 4.

*Indicates incumbent

District 4 Constable-Elect Hudnall

No candidate, from either the Republican or the Democratic party filed to run for Constable of District 4.  In addition, no one currently holds the position as Constable of District 4.

​Following the May 2002 Primary Election, Shadie Reed Hudnall Jr. filed, on April 6, 2022, as a write-in candidate, for the vacant seat of District 4 Constable. Hudnall was elected as District 4 Constable through write-in votes.

Franklin County Magisterial District 4 Candidate Scotty Tracy
Junior Hudnall

Candidates Speak Up!
We Are Profoundly Disappointed that
Magistrate-Tracy Did Not Reply and Speak Up!

To better understand local candidates' positions on various civic issues, Together Frankfort sent questionnaires to all candidates for selected local offices. The topics included economic development, gun safety, campaign finance, voting, housing and other issues. We contacted candidates for the following offices:

Frankfort Board of Commissioners 
Franklin County Judge Executive
Franklin County Fiscal Court Candidates in District 1 - District 6. 

District 3 Magistrate - Neither Magistrate Tracy nor his opponent, Darryl Sanderson, responded to the questionnaire. (Responses from other candidates can be found here, or on the page for each Fiscal Court District election.)
We also sent questionnaires to candidates for the following offices which represent Franklin County in the Kentucky General Assembly: 
KY House District 56      KY House District 57   KY Senate District 20

Though Together Frankfort's leadership understood that the Frankfort State Journals would publish the candidates' responses to the questionnaire prior to the election, unfortunately the newspaper chose not to do so.  We only learned of their decision not to publish these on the eve of early voting days. Therefore we are providing the responses through links to those candidates who replied. 

We are sincerely appreciative to the candidates who provided thoughtful responses, creative ideas, and timely information.  Please review their ideas .

Scotty Tracy* (D)      

Address: ​718 Colston Lane 
Frankfort, KY  40601 
Phone: 502.803.6055

Phone: 502.545.4950

Candidate Facebook page     


Franklin County Magisterial District 4: Magistrate-elect Tracy & Constable-Elect Hudnall 

Where is Franklin County Magistrate District 4?

The map of Franklin County, in the left portion of the graphic below, shows all Franklin County and the 44 voting precincts. These precincts are grouped to form six (6) magisterial districts, which are required by law to include a population similar in number, in each district. District 4 (click here for a more detailed map of District 4) is made up of nine (9) precincts, which are shown in various colors in the enlarged section to the right of the graphic below.

Franklin County Magistrate District four is enlarged, on the right portion of the graphic below: Crestwood, Fairview, Gaines-Holmes, Glenwood, Owenton Road, Peaks Mill, Swallowfield, Switzer, and Thornhill. District 4's western border is formed by the Kentucky River; the eastern portion borders Scott County, while the northern part of District 4 borders Owen County. The southernmost part of District 4 stretches into the city of Frankfort and includes precincts around Kentucky State University, the community of Thornhill, and the Holmes street area.

Franklin County Magisterial District 4

District 4 Constable-elect Hudnall 

Shadie Reed "Junior" Hudnall Jr. 

5 Preston Way

Frankfort KY 40601

E-mail: shudnall@aol.com

Phone:  (502) 803-0574

Personal Facebook Page

Scotty Tracy* (D)

District 4 Magistrate-Elect